Don't miss a deal!

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Ultimate Built Bars Taste Test (I Tried 18 Different Flavors & Here’s What I Really Think!)

Hip2Save may earn a small commission via affiliate links in this post. Read our full disclosure policy here.

More Product Reviews

woman with built bars

If you’re anything like me, constantly hangry and wanting to snack ALL THE TIME, these bars may help!  

Built Bars are filled with protein, low in carbs, and there are often Built Bar coupon codes and deals which make these bars really affordable when compared to lots of other protein bars on the market.

We’ve had a lot of requests recently from readers asking which flavors of Built Bars are the best, so I decided to do a little BIG taste test on some of their current flavors  – 18 to be exact! 😱 Many of our team members rave about these Built Bars, which made me even more curious to taste all of their delicious-sounding options, especially since I’m on the pickier side when it comes to protein bars.

(This is my 18-year-old who joined in on the taste test!)

I decided it would be best to take a bite of each bar and then immediately write down my feedback. In addition, I’ve placed star emojis next to my own personal favorite flavors, and I’ve also ranked the flavors on a scale from 1 to 10. This way you’ll know which bars you might want to try out first!

On to the Built Bars taste test…

woman with banana built bar

⭐️Banana Chocolate Creme⭐️

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

YUM! I love this bar, and maybe it’s because I don’t often eat bananas since keto is my jam. Regardless, these bars are filled with creamy banana chocolate magicalness, and kill my craving for sweets (and that’s hard to do!).

Rating: 9/10


coconut cream built bar

⭐️Chocolate Coconut Creme⭐️

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

This bar was so, so, so GOOD – but you do have to like coconut! It has such a great coconut flavor and I love the creamy taste and texture! It was for sure one of my faves.

Rating: 9.5/10


built bar lemon on counter

Lemon Meringue Pie

Serving Size 1 bar | 150 Calories | 5g Fat | 18g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 8g Sugar Alcohols | 4g Net Carbs | 17g Protein

This bar has a lot going on when you bite into it. You taste the lemon, but then at times during the chewing process the lemon gets super overpowering. Then an after taste kicks in, and it’s just a roller coaster of emotions for my taste buds. I honestly don’t really like this one, which makes me sad since I typically love lemon desserts.

Rating: 4/10


man with peanut caramel built bar

Peanut Caramel

Serving Size 1 bar | 150 Calories | 4g Fat | 15g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 7g Sugar Alcohols | 2g Net Carbs | 18g Protein

I feel like the caramel taste doesn’t really shine through at all. I LOVE caramel, so I feel like with this one they should go back to their test kitchen so that they can figure out how to give these bars that amazing caramel flavor.

Rating: 5/10


built bar assortment on table

Hazelnut Cheesecake

Serving Size 1 bar | 150 Calories | 5g Fat | 18g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 8g Sugar Alcohols | 4g Net Carbs | 17g Protein

This bar has a great consistency to it, kind of like a rich and creamy cheesecake would. However, I am not a fan of the flavor at all. It took a weird turn after the first bite. The hazelnut flavor basically takes over the whole bar with little to no cheesecake flavor. After a few chews, it almost tasted like I was eating pimento cheese, so I guess it tastes more savory than sweet. I think they should change the name to pimento cheese hazelnut cheesecake bar.

Rating: 4/10


built bars in fridge

Peanut Butter

Serving Size 1 bar | 170 Calories | 7g Fat | 16g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 6g Sugar Alcohols | 3g Net Carbs | 20g Protein

This bar has a good solid peanut butter taste. If you’re a peanut butter fan, this would be a great bar for you.

Rating: 7/10


coconut almond built bar in box

⭐️Coconut Almond⭐️

Serving Size 1 bar | 130 Calories | 5g Fat | 16g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 6g Sugar Alcohols | 5g Net Carbs | 18g Protein

In addition to bananas, apparently I really like coconut flavored bars, too. This one is really good and I love the balance of both the coconut and almond flavors. This has the consistency of a Mounds bar and even the taste reminds me of one! Winning!

Rating: 9/10


peanut butter brownie built bar

Peanut Butter Brownie

Serving Size 1 bar | 170 Calories | 7g Fat | 16g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 6g Sugar Alcohols | 3g Net Carbs | 20g Protein

This bar is one where the first initial bite was good, but after a few chews I started to notice a bit of an aftertaste. I definitely like the peanut butter flavor, but it’s overpowered by the chocolate protein-y after taste.

Rating: 5/10


banana bread built bar

⭐️Banana Nut Bread⭐️

Serving Size 1 bar | 150 Calories | 5g Fat | 16g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 8g Sugar Alcohols | 5g Net Carbs | 18g Protein

Ummmm… apparently I LOVE banana because this bar is amazing! I think I might actually like it just as much, if not more than the Banana Chocolate Cream Built Bar. It tastes so good and totally makes me feel like I’m getting to enjoy a banana muffin without the guilt or carbs.

Rating: 9.5/10


built bar german chocolate

German Chocolate Cake

Serving Size 1 bar | 170 Calories | 7g Fat | 16g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 8g Sugar Alcohols | 1g Net Carbs | 18g Protein

You’ll love this if you like dark chocolate. It has a really rich taste, so it’s perfect for those times when you’re craving chocolate or a decadent dessert.

Rating: 7.2/10


toffee almond built bar

Toffee Almond

Serving Size 1 bar | 160 Calories | 5g Fat | 16g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 9g Sugar Alcohols | 0g Net Carbs | 18g Protein

I feel like the chocolate on this bar is a bit overpowering so it’s hard to really get a lot of that toffee flavor. It’s not bad, but sadly, it’s not amazing.

Rating: 5/10


hand holding built bar

Mint Brownie Delite

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

This bar surprised me as it had a different consistency than most of their other Built Bars, it was denser and fudge-like. When I first bit into it, I was like this one is awesome then as I kept chewing I wasn’t quite as impressed. It was still really good – but just to keep things transparent, there was a bit of an after taste almost like I had just rinsed my mouth out with Scope.

Rating: 7.5/10


built bars

Black Cherry Chocolate Creme

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

This has a very strong cherry taste, almost veering on tasting like cherry medicine. However, I’m weird 🤣 and don’t mind that cherry medicine taste, but I know for some it would be a major turn off.

Rating: 7.8/10


built bar

Salted Caramel Chocolate

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 13g Total Carbs | 6g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 1g Glycerin | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

This bar isn’t bad, but it did have a little bit of an after taste. I wish the caramel flavor was stronger since I love caramel so much.

Rating: 6.5/10


woman eating chocolate built bar

Double Chocolate Mousse

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 1g Glycerin | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

Hello double chocolate after taste. I was not a fan of this one at all. I’m such a chocoholic so this was a disappointment and I just couldn’t get past the after taste.

Rating: 2/10


orange chocolate built bar

⭐️Orange Chocolate Creme⭐️

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

YES!! I LOVED this bar!! The orange flavor really makes it over-the-top yummy. I think it helps to balance out the chocolate flavor and it actually reminds me of those orange creamsicle popsicles – it’s so creamy! My son says it has a texture/taste like those High Chew candies and kinda like a Starburst, too.

Rating: 9.5/10


woman with built bars

Vanilla Chocolate Creme

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

This is a good, basic protein bar but it does have a bit of an aftertaste.

Rating: 6.8/10


raspberry built bar

Raspberry Chocolate Creme

Serving Size 1 bar | 110 Calories | 4g Fat | 14g Total Carbs | 7g Dietary Fiber | 2g Erythritol | 5g Net Carbs | 15g Protein

This bar is nice and creamy, however, I do wish the raspberry taste was just a little more real tasting. It had a somewhat artificial taste to it.

Rating: 6.8/10


And there you have it, my very thorough and scientific Built Bars taste test! 😉


man woman with built bars

Built Bar is giving back!

Built Bar will soon be changing their formula and promises even yummier bars than before. They’ve also decided to donate 100% of their profits from their remaining 8 million current formula bars to organizations that help support education, equality, the ending of racism, those suffering from poverty, and focusing primarily on children where the greatest impact can be made.

As a part of this 8 million bar promotion, you can save up to 50% off your purchase of current formula bars.

Plus, we have a special offer just for our Hip2Save readers! You can score a 10-Bar Sample Box for only $9.95 shipped. Please note that you must use this link to receive this very special pricing and this offer is valid for new customers only!

Here’s the deal…

Built Bar 10-Count Sample Box $9.95 (regularly $21)
Shipping is free
Final cost only $9.95 shipped!


hand holding built bar

Also, did you know that Built Bar has a “Taste Guarantee“!? If you don’t love the taste, be sure to contact them for a full refund! Note that this is limited to one item, on your first order only, within 14 days after delivery.


Eating keto? Head here for our favorite low carb snacks to buy!

Join The Discussion

Comments 73

  1. simplyme

    I have to agree with you on all of the ones I’ve tried! The fruity ones (orange, banana, coconut almond, banana nut bread) were all good. The others I expected to be great were not! Double chocolate, caramel etc. I didn’t even finish the caramel.

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      Yes, I totally agree! 😃 I do think they’ve nailed the fruity ones, but definitely need to work on their chocolate varieties.

      • Debbie

        They had a key lime pie on St. Patrick’s Day. Unfortunately it was only available to buy on that day. I love this flavor and I’m hoping they let us buy them again soon!

        • Melissa

          Actually, if you place an order, they are offering the Key Lime ones at a discount, when you go to checkout. I got a box when I bought my sample box. I want to say they may have been $9.95

  2. Lynn

    Thank you! I’m waiting for my sample pack to arrive and wanted to take advantage of the sale!

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      You’re welcome! Hopefully you enjoy some of the flavors.

  3. tiffany

    Thank you!

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      You bet! I hope you find it helpful.

  4. johnnamcrobieduke

    I totally agree that the fruity ones are the best! They are almost like the old “charleston chew” bar with flavors 🙂

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      That brings back memories – I LOVED Charleston Chews growing up! 😋

  5. Meghan

    Pimento cheese! hahahahahha

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      🤣

  6. Jen

    TY! I like seeing that I wasn’t the only one who really disliked some flavors but enjoyed others.

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      You’re welcome, and ya – it was definitely interesting to see how some were MUCH better than others.

  7. suz

    I purchased the sample box when it was featured and my husband liked all the flavors! No complaints. He liked the fact that each bar had less sugar vs other protein bars.

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      Yes, I love that the bars have way less sugar than most. I’m glad your hubby enjoyed them all! 🙌

  8. Stephanie

    Put them in the fridge to get them cold. They get a harder consistency and really remind me of Charleston Chew bars.

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      YUM! So trying this, thanks for the tip! 👍

  9. Sue

    How do you calculate the actual carbs you are consuming? Do they raise you blood sugar? If they raise your blood sugar, how long are you out of ketosis? Thanks.

  10. Sue

    I cut one into thirds. I take a third when I feel the need. Like when my husband is eating chocolate at night. I feel somewhat less hangry about that.

  11. Em

    I LIKED the banana chocolate and I HATED the toffee one. Those are the only 2 I have tried so far. This is the first food company that I have had such stongly different reactions to the same product – different flavors.

  12. Lindsey

    Hazelnut pimento cheese? Vomit!! Also I’m so bummed about this review! I bought a sample pack last week and planned to give all the banana and coconut to my dad since I hate banana anything and don’t care for chewy coconut. I hope I like the chocolate/caramel selection more than you did.

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      Hi Lindsey,

      I sure hope you end up liking some of the flavors – keep us posted!

    • Melissa

      I just tried the Salted carmel Chocolate and I loved it. My fave, so far I think

    • Dana

      I usually dislike banana flavor things but I loved the banana flavors.

  13. Missy

    I’m so glad you posted this because the only one I’ve tried so far was the double chocolate mousse and I really didn’t like it at all. I listened to what other people said and put it in the freezer too. Holy moly it was almost impossible to take a bite. I will have to try one of the coconut flavors!

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      Yes, do try the coconut flavors – hopefully you’ll be pleasantly surprised like I was! 😋

    • ann

      Definitely try one of the others. I tried the chocolate mint one first and threw it away it was so horrible. Then I tried the bananna and also the salted carmel which were much better. Had I just tried the first one only, I would have never ever eaten one again but I purchased the sampler so had other flavors.

  14. Carol Schipper

    I cannot believe your son is 18. When I started following you, he was no more than 8/9. What a handsome guy

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      Thank you. ❤️ And where does the time go?! 😥

    • Wren

      Carol, same here… he is such a cutie, can’t believe how big he is. 💟 Now the same thing is happening to my kids. 😭😆

      • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

        Why do they have to grow up so fast?! 😭

  15. Amanda

    If you would like $10 off your first box (not a sample box) e-mail me at amandafreemail at gmail

    • Debbie

      I would like $10 off my first box-Thanks

  16. Susan A

    I tried several of these bars from the sample pack. I love them so much more than the usual protein bars that I buy! So even the ones I didn’t LOVE were better than what I had been eating! And I have to say that I DO NOT care for coconut like in Almond Joy bars (I do like toasted coconut that is crispy). That being said, I absolutely loved the coconut almond bar. That surprised me. I wasn’t crazy about the banana but really liked the orange. Anyway, I ordered more.

    • Jennifer (Hip Sidekick)

      Thank you so much for telling us what you thought of these! So glad to hear you ordered more!

  17. cindymadden-shepherd

    Thanks so much for sharing the taste test results. I’m diabetic, Type II, and I crave sweets. I have been wondering about this product and now I’m going to try the ones you rated the highest.

    • Jennifer (Hip Sidekick)

      You are so welcome!

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      Yay! Glad to hear you found the post helpful. I sure hope you enjoy the ones that I really liked! 😃

    • Debbie

      My husband is diabetic, and he loves these, (almost as much as I do). They are low in sugar.

  18. Jlinsey

    No way your son is 18 yet! Why is it the older our kids get the older I feel! 😩. He’s so handsome! It’s been fun watching your kids grow up. My youngest son just turned 10 this week and I remember he was almost 1 when I started using your site.

  19. Bri

    You’re braver than I am! I tried three of them and gave up. The texture is sticky and so gross! The aftertaste is disgusting and it lingers especially the double chocolate mousse. I had high hopes for these but sadly, I can’t get past the aftertaste and texture. I wouldn’t recommend these to anyone 🤮.

    • Amy

      I just got my sample box yesterday on the $5 deal posted on H2S. I was so excited to try them, especially the orange one. I have to agree with you, Bri. The texture was so weird, gel-like and sticky. I tried putting it in the freezer to see if that would help the texture and that just made it hard and hard to chew. In my opinion, it wasn’t very sweet and quite bland. I will try putting them in the fridge, as I see some people are suggesting, but I’m so glad I only paid $5 for the sample box. I don’t have very high hopes for the rest of the box.

  20. Athena

    Just received my sample bar today. I’ve only eaten the banana creme one and it was delish. I loved the chewy texture. I normally have a hard time finding protein bars I like, but I would order more of these in a heartbeat.

    • Jennifer (Hip Sidekick)

      Yay! That is great to hear, Athena!

  21. Jen

    I microwave mine for 10-11 seconds before I eat – YUM!

  22. Susan

    I wish I didn’t have to buy the whole box for $37…and that they sold them individually. In that way if I didn’t care for a certain flavor I’m not stuck with the whole box. Bummer!

    • Amanda

      Hi Susan, you can try a mixed box that comes with several flavors. If you are only interested in 1 box the code “LIMITED” will save you 15% or you can e-mail me if you would like $10 off your first box (excluding the sample box) at amandafreemail at gmail

    • Amanda

      I should have mentioned the mixed box still has 18 bars but comes with 15 different flavors 🙂

    • Debbie

      You can buy a mixed box. You pick 3 flavors and you get 6 bars of each flavor. It’s a great way to try some flavors. And if you don’t like a certain flavor, and you purchased a whole box, contact them. They have excellent customer service, and want to make it right!

  23. Lisa K.

    Colin, but this is the very first time I’ve ever doubted anything in one of your posts! :0
    You look WAY too YOUNG to have an 18 year old son! 🙂

    I ordered the sampler box and these bars are awesome! I can’t believe they are so good and so low sugar!
    I’m getting ready to take advantage of the buy one get one half off deal now, so thanks for the tip and for recommending them!

  24. Jill

    My favorite is the coconut almond. Those are awesome 👏🏼👏🏼

  25. tiredday

    I hated the chocolate mousse one!!! I’ve like them all but my faves are orange and coconut almond.

  26. Kim

    The first one I tried out of my mixed box was the Banana Nut and I thought I had made a mistake buying them because the texture was so gross that I could barely eat it. 🤢 Luckily, I saw someone say they liked them frozen, so I’ve eaten a couple more that way with MUCH better results. I think the flavor is not as strong when frozen, though, so I’m going to keep the rest in the fridge so I can find a favorite!

  27. Jen

    So funny my favorite is actually the double chocolate mouse! They are much better when left in the refrigerator. I dislike most of the fruit ones 🙂

  28. Alli8

    Ugh. I froze them and the coconut almond was the first I tried. I didn’t expect it to taste like a candy bar but it was horrid. i couldn’t even finish it. 🤢

  29. Cindy Lou

    Has anyone tried the key lime? Hoping to hear a review of it before buying.

  30. Sherri

    I order these Friday… They were @ my front door Saturday… The first one I tried was the coconut almond… Shall I say ” yummy”…So I went back and order 1 more box to be delivered to my mom… I usually buy the Quest Bars but decided to give these a try for that great price… I have found some new bars to eat… Thanks to u all… I like them refrigerated… Now let me go finish eating my (built bar) banana nut bread… yum…

  31. DJ Vin

    Finally finished the trial box deal and have final impressions… I’ll have to agree with many here. I’ve been sugar free dirty keto whatever you wanna call it for a year and I’ve encountered, and in some cases grown quite fond of some funky or odd tasting items. These are pretty bad, not Bulletproof bars chalky powdery gag bad, but barely flavored funky teeth mashing weirdness. I’d buy them again if really cheap based on protein snack value alone but I surely will not be writing my mother a letter home about them. Thankful definitely for a great deal to try them!

  32. Rebekah

    The Double Chocolate Mousse tastes like dog food smells!! 🤢 The others so far we have liked.

  33. Tracey

    Thanks for the post; just sent the sample box to my son for a little surprise in the mail!

    • Stacy F (Hip2Save Sidekick)

      Yum, I bet he’ll love it!

  34. Rebecca Shields

    I finished my sample pack pretty quick. Most bars are great but love PB and the Chocolate Toffee.

  35. Jeangirl

    Collin, I was wondering who the “man” was with you. I can’t believe that is your son. I too remember when the kids were indeed just kids:) Thank so much to you and your team! Stay safe:)

    • Collin (Mrs. Hip)

      You’re very welcome! Thank YOU for the kind words. Wishing all the best for you and your family. ❤️🥰

  36. Tracey

    I wish I would have read this before I ordered my boxes. Hazelnut Cheesecake literally does have a Pimento cheese flavor. Gag.

  37. Charlotte

    Everybody is different in what they like, lol. My favs are the peanut butter, raspberry, mocha and peanut butter brownie. I do agree the key lime pie was kinda over the top with the flavor. Just too strong but it won’t keep me from eating them. Only one’s I’ve missed were the cookies and cream (didn’t get them ordered before they sold out) and, I think there was a red velvet and a birthday cake but I’m not usually especially a fan of those flavors in other things so didn’t order those. Hazelnut cheesecake — maybe I was expecting too much. Not a fan but will still eat, lol. I do like pimento cheese but not so much in a sweet bar, with chocolate, hehe. I must say I think the dark chocolate on the bars is very tasty. BTW I keep them in my freezer. You do have to be a little careful with those first few bites though — some flavors freeze way harder than others!

  38. Julie

    I can’t get any of the discount codes to work for me?

  39. Christine Walker

    I agree with your ratings 100%. I have tried most of those and a few additional ones. I just got the mango and banana nut and adore them. I have the limited edition Lemon Blueberry and Pineapple Upsidedown cake on their way to me now.

  40. JanP

    I bought the 18 bar mixed packs. Of course, I had to try almost all of them. So far, I dislike the toffee and orange. I had high hopes for the orange, but it tastes too fake. I liked the black cherry, though it was a bit strong.
    My favorites so far are the mint, coconut creme, and pineapple. The German chocolate is so so, but bad, just not as I had hoped. The lemon blueberry is not very good. I wish they had different textures. I happened to order right before a hot spell here in Ohio. It’s been over 90 degrees for days. When I received mine, the insides had melted, so the insides are all the consistency of chewy caramel and about an inch high. The chocolate was intact and the taste wasn’t affected. Overall, these are very good with no aftertaste (for me). I hope the new ones that are being worked on have more textures (like pieces of nuts and things), and I hope they create a white chocolate version.

    • smithkid06

      JanP, how did you get them? Everytime I go to the website, they say they are completely sold out.

  41. Loredana Mollica

    Do all bars have erythritol?

  42. Debbie

    I would like $10 off my first box-Thanks

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

It's not your Grandma's coupon site!

Sign up for a Hip2Save account (it's free) to access all of the awesome features!

Forgot Password?

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot Password

Don't have an account? Register

Become a Hip2Save Insider

Don't Miss Out! Join our large community of insiders - it's totally free! Once you join, you'll be able to save & share your favorite deals, rate posts and recipes and add items to your HipList and Cookbook! What are ya waiting for?!

Already have an account? Login

Become a Hip2Save Insider

Don't Miss Out! Join our large community of insiders - it's totally free! Once you join, you'll be able to save & share your favorite deals, rate posts and recipes and add items to your HipList and Cookbook! What are ya waiting for?!



Already have an account? Login

Thank you for rating!

Would you also like to leave us a comment?